National Anti-vivisection Society


National Antivisection Society

Supporters of repeal of Section 24

Posted: 6 November 2013. Updated: 8 October 2015

Organisations, companies and individuals supporting repeal of Section 24

Statement of support: “Section 24 of the Animals (Scientific Procedures) Act 1986 (ASPA), as amended, prevents the release of information on animal experiments, which is at odds with the spirit of EU Directive 2010/63/EU to promote transparency and public accountability.

In order to allow scrutiny of the scientific robustness of proposed animal research, we urge the government to repeal Section 24 following its review of ASPA. This would in no way compromise personal information, health or safety, commercial interests, or information that is confidential or intended for future publication; the Freedom of Information Act 2000 already provides for this.”

  • Anglican Society for the Welfare of Animals
  • Animal Aid
  • Animal Defenders International
  • Animal Welfare Party
  • Antidote Europe
  • Association of Lawyers for Animal Welfare (ALAW)
  • Beagle Welfare Scheme, The
  • Campaign for Freedom of Information
  • Centre for Animals and Social Justice
  • Corporate Watch
  • Ethical Investors
  • Ethics and Health Foundation
  • Jewish Vegetarian
  • Kennel Club
  • Lakeview Monkey Sanctuary
  • Lord Dowding Fund for Humane Research
  • Naturewatch
  • New Internationalist
  • OneKind
  • PETA
  • Rabbit Welfare Association and Fund
  • Viva!
  • Voice for Ethical Research at Oxford
  • Dr Adrian Stallwood
  • Andrew Knight DipECAWBM (AWSEL), PhD, MRCVS, FOCAE
  • Dr Aryan Tavakkoli MRCP FRACP
  • Christina Garcia, The Animal Law Office
  • Christine Brock PhD, BSc (Hons), MNIMH, FIBMS
  • Sir Jonathon Porritt
  • Katherine van Ekert BVSc
  • Peter Tatchell, human rights campaigner
  • Dr Richard Ryder
  • Zoe Jewell MSc, MA, VetMB, MRCVS, President, WildTrack
  • Vivien Pomfrey MSc

Celebrities supporting repeal of Section 24

  • Alexei Sayle
  • Ann Widdecombe
  • Annette Crosbie
  • Benjamin Zephaniah
  • Brian Blessed
  • Chris Packham
  • Colin Baker
  • Eddie Izzard
  • Gary Webster
  • Gemma Atkinson
  • Jenny Seagrove
  • Joanna Lumley
  • Julian Clary
  • Julie Peasgood
  • Lynsey de Paul
  • Martin Shaw
  • Meg Mathews
  • Paul McCartney
  • Paul O’Grady
  • Peter Egan
  • Prunella Scales
  • Rick Wakeman
  • Ricky Gervais
  • Sadie Frost
  • Samantha Womack
  • Twiggy
  • Wendy Turner-Webster

Find out more about our campaign to end secret suffering in UK labs here

© National Anti-Vivisection Society