National Anti-vivisection Society


National Antivisection Society

The new Animals in Science Committee

Posted: 12 December 2013. Updated: 12 December 2013

In January 2013 the Animals in Science Committee (ASC) replaced the Animal Procedures Committee (APC) as part of the implementation of the European Directive on animal experiments.

The remit of the APC was to advise the Secretary of State on matters under the Animals in Scientific Procedures Act – either those which they deemed important or the Secretary of State referred to them. There were four sub-committees, which advised the main committee on applications, education and training, housing and husbandry, and primates. In addition to the committees, there were various working groups which were set up to deal with specific issues, and then disbanded; these included “Directive 86/609/EEC (latterly Directive 2010/63/EU)” and “Cumulative Severity”.

Applications referred to the APC were those for work involving wild-caught primates; cats, dogs, equidae (horses, zebra and wild ass), and primates which were of substantial severity; whole organ xenotransplantation, chronic pain models and central nervous system studies of substantial severity and any applications raising novel or contentious issues or ones of societal concern.

In their final report the APC listed a number of outstanding issues from their previous reports and addressed the form, function and remit of the ASC, including which applications will now be automatically submitted to the ASC for advice. We will be monitoring this to ensure that none of the issues which were automatically referred under the APC are dropped. For example, it would be unacceptable if severe procedures on primates were not submitted to the ASC for further scrutiny.

The members of the ASC are as follows:

  • Dr John Landers (Chair) – Senior Research Fellow on biological and historical demography, Hertford College, Oxford
  • Mr Ken Applebee – Director of Biological Services, King’s College London
  • Professor Gail Davies – Professor of Human Geography, University of Exeter
  • Dr Simon Glendinning – Reader in European Philosophy, London School of Economics and Political Science
  • Dr Huw Golledge – Senior Research Associate, Institute of Neuroscience, Newcastle University
  • Dr Penny Hawkins – Deputy Head, Research Animals Department, RSPCA
  • Professor Malcom Macleod – Professor of Neurology and Translational Neuroscience, University of Edinburgh
  • Dr Matt Parker – Research Fellow, School of Biological and Chemical Sciences, Queen Mary University of London
  • Anna Rowland – Assistant Director of Policy for Fitness to Practice , General Medical Council
  • Dr Gilly Stoddart – Science Advisor, PETA International Science
  • Professor Gavin Woodhall – Professor of Neuropharmacology, School of Life and Health Sciences, Aston University

    Find out more about the work of the ASC
    Read about the UK vivisection laws

    © National Anti-Vivisection Society